Danish Museum Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Museum of Danish America provides oversight to the staff and assists in developing ideas and plans that contribute to the museum’s continuing vitality. Board members participate at their own expense and receive no reimbursements.

The Board of Directors is limited to twenty-five members. Terms of service are for three years, with the possibility of re-election to a second term. Three years must pass before a member can again be considered for board membership. Several ex-officio members have continued to provide expertise although they normally do not attend meetings nor do they vote on issues. The Board’s Nominations Committee strives for regional representation, gender balance and diversity of expertise.

The Board of Directors meets three times a year. The annual meeting is held in Elk Horn, Iowa, during the third weekend in October. Normally, the Board meets each February and June in different locations around the United States to cultivate interest in the museum’s mission.

Without the dedication, energy and support of a strong team-oriented Board of Directors, the Staff of the museum would not be able to work effectively in managing day-to-day operations of the Museum of Danish America.

Executive Members

  • President

    Garey Knudsen Hutchinson, MN

  • Vice President

    Tim Burchill Jamestown, ND

  • Secretary

    Carolyn Larson St. Paul, MN

  • Treasurer

    Karen Suchomel West Branch, IA

Board Members

  • Anders Sand Kansas City, MO

  • Bente Ellis San Jose, CA

  • Beth Bro-Roof Cedar Rapids, IA

  • Carl Steffensen Houston, TX

  • Carol Svendsen Denver, CO

  • Cindy Larsen Adams Littleton, CO

  • Craig Molgaard Little Rock, AR

  • Dagmar Muthamia Long Beach, CA

  • David Esbeck San Diego, CA

  • David Hendee Omaha, NE

  • Dorothy Stadsvold Feisel Chestertown, MD

  • Glenn Henriksen Armstrong, IA

  • Honorary Consul Anna Thomsen Holliday Houston, TX

  • Honorary Consul Karen Nielsen Overland Park, KS

  • Jerry Schrader Casselberry, FL

  • Linda Steffensen Hoffman Estates, IL

  • Marnie Jensen Nebraska City, NE

  • Ole Sønnichsen Bjert, DK

  • Randy Ruggaard Hudson, OH

  • Ronald Bro Cedar Falls, IA


  • Dennis Larson Decorah, IA

  • Kai Nyby LaPorte, IN

  • Marc Petersen Omaha, NE

  • Mark Frederiksen Peyton, CO

  • Nils Jensen Portland, OR

  • Vern Hunter Fargo, ND